Sunday, October 13, 2013

Introducing Joanne Bischof's Cadence of Grace Series

I wanted to introduce this series by Joanne Bischof because the third book, My Hope Is Found, releases on Tuesday, October 15. With its rustic 1900 Appalachian setting, endearing characters, romantic tension, and unexpected plot twists, this series will always be one of my favorites. I will post my review of My Hope is Found soon, but recommend reading all three books in order. Meanwhile, enjoy some interesting information about the Cadence of Grace series . . .

The Cadence of Grace series begins with a shotgun wedding…
between two unlikely people.

Shy and quiet, Lonnie Sawyer has never kissed any boy, let alone the one who has mother’s whispering warnings in their daughter’s ears and father’s loading shotguns. When that one kiss seals her fate, she finds herself wedded to a man who does not love her. Yet God promises that His eye is on the Sparrow and clinging to that hope, Lonnie takes one brave step in front of the other and the Lord’s blessings unfold in her life.

Handsome ladies man and bluegrass musician Gideon O’Riley has always wanted one thing–his own satisfaction. But as his heart softens towards his young bride with the strong, quiet, faith, he begins to yearn for more; longing to become the man she deserves and to better understand the God who can save him from a life of destruction.

Joanne Bischof

       "I really wanted the series title to honor God’s goodness towards us. In combining GRACE: An unearned and unmerited favor; the absolutely free expression of the loving kindness of God to men finding its only motive in the bounty and benevolence of the Giver. And CADENCE: the modulated and rhythmic recurrence of something.
       "The idea behind this series is that God has a perfect plan . . . but it’s not always through calm waters. Nothing along the journey is for naught. Perhaps it wasn’t time for their happily-ever-after to come. Not just yet. I think the hero of the story, Gideon, still has some lessons to learn. He still has some growing up to do. I think that trials come into our lives, so that we might come out on the other end a little bit stronger and a little bit wiser. Not because God is unkind, but because He is gracious to give us that time of growth—when we need it the most."

Read the first chapter: BE STILL MY SOUL

Read the first chapter: THOUGH MY HEART IS TORN


  1. My daughter read this series, out of order... but she loved it!!

  2. Amy, have you read this series? If not, I think you'll love it and I would like to know your thoughts. Can't imagine reading it out of order like your daughter, though, because each book begins where the previous one left off.

  3. I have not read it. My daughter thought it was so sad. She was crying through several of the books. The reason she read out of order was because she reviewed Book 2 (I am not sure she realized at the time it was a series) then she could not find book 1 and then the author sent book 3 for review. She finally had the librarian order book 1 for her to read. It seems like a complicated plot of characters and alot of emotions involved. I am sure for her it was a learning experience. I may attempt to read it. There are sooo many books I want to read. I cannot seem to keep up! But winter is coming and it will mean more sit down time. :-)

  4. I've read the first book in this series and loved it. I've been waiting for the third book to come out before I start the second because I want to keep reading the story without interruption!

    I'm looking forward to reading them both soon. : )

  5. Now that's a wise decision, Cathy! I used to have a rule that I didn't begin reading a series until all the books were released, but reviewing forced me to change that. Book 2 leads right into book 3, so I suspect you will want to read them together. I'd love to hear your thoughts when you finish, Cathy. Thank you so much for posting!